Since the foundation of IDDRG (in 1958), Working Group Meetings were held annually. For the annual Working Group meetings, the Secretary General informed the National Secretaries of the date and venue, as well as of the themes for Working Groups 1, 2 and 3. The National Secretaries then gave this information to their National Groups.

Those wishing to contribute to the meeting sent an abstract to their National Secretary who, if it was approved, was sent to the Secretary General, who gathered all the abstracts together before meeting with the appropriate three Convenors. If the abstract was accepted by the Convenors, they informed the authors and asked for the full contribution. Then, 35 copies of the full contribution, 3 sheets double-sided maximum, were sent to the Secretary General at least 8 weeks prior to the meeting. The Secretary-General combined all contributions for all Working Groups and despatched them to the National Secretaries for copying and circulation to their selected delegate and advisors. Copies were also sent to the Executive Committee.

For the Working Group meetings, each member country or group of countries of the IDDRG was allowed 1 delegate and 2 technical advisors to each of the 3 Working Groups who could contribute freely to the discussions. Observers were allowed to attend at the discretion of the organizers.


Location Year
Baarn/Hilversum, Netherlands 1961
Stockholm, Sweden 1963
Philadelphia, USA 1965
St. Germain en Laye, France 1967
Madrid, Spain 1969
London, England 1971
Zurich, Switzerland 1973
Dusseldorf, Germany 1975
Warsaw, Poland 1977
Warwick, England 1978
Liege, Belgium 1979
Tokyo, Japan 1981
Helsinki, Finland 1983
Amsterdam, Netherlands 1985
Schaffhausen, Switzerland 1987
Budapest, Hungary 1989
Pisa, Italy 1991
Linz, Austria 1993
Colmar, France 1995
Haugesund, Norway 1997
Birmingham,UK 1999
Helsinki, Finnland 2001
Bled, Slovenia 2003
Update cookies preferences